Change your life story

Sometimes you already knew. Sometimes your gut had already been telling you something that you just refused to pay any heed to. You needed that bad situation to give you the motivation to leave that toxic relationship or to give you an answer as clear as day.When I broke up with my husband, I went into therapy for a little over a year. My therapist was my marriage counselor. My ex husband and I saw her for three months. During my last session with her as a married couple, it was a solo session and she seemed to be advising me to get a divorce. I was offended and stopped seeing her right away. 

When I found out about the affair, my therapist was one of the first people I contacted. I asked if she knew about the affair and if that was why she was counseling me toward a divorce. She said she did not know about the affair and that she was pushing me toward a divorce because she could see that I wasn’t happy in my marriage. 

In the year and a half since my break up, I’ve faced many challenges and I’ve constantly amazed myself by overcoming these challenges. I’ve successfully began life as a single mom – moving out to Manhattan with my daughter and successfully navigated the public school system to get her into one of the best public schools in the city. Ive faced my ex husband – the man I once called my soul mate and my true love, in court and successfully fought for a fair divorce settlement. I’ve taken my daughter alone on vacations and road trips – this coming from a woman who never drove for years because her husband didn’t want her touching his car (which she paid for). And every time I overcame a hurdle, I felt stronger inside. I knew I could do this. 

I never imagined that one day I’d be divorced in my mid thirties and doing this single mom thing. But it happened and I survived. And I’m determined to use this as a platform to change my life story. 

So dear friends, as the new year approaches us and you are down in the dumps and feeling depressed, I hope you see that glimmer of hope. I pray you see the positive side of this. And I hope that you use this as the motivation to change your life story and lead the life you were meant to live. You are the author of your life story. You control your own destiny. Don’t ever let anyone take that away from you. 

Leave a Reply

