Fake It Till You Make It

It’s Monday tomorrow. In my part of the world, it’s the Monday after a long weekend. For some of us, tomorrow will be a respite from the long and lonely weekend. For others, tomorrow may seem dreary as we go back to our routines and face the realities of life again. 

So for those of you who are depressed about tomorrow – or just feeling depressed in general, I would like you to do something for yourself – fake it till you make it.

Maybe I’m trivializing it – and I’m certainly no expert on medical depression etc., but I do believe that it’s all in the state of the mind. And I believe that if you put your best face forward, even when you are feeling crappy inside, it lifts your spirits – even for a bit and helps put you in a positive state of mind. 

I’m not asking you to present a picture of perfection for the world to see. In fact I don’t believe in picture perfections because it goes against what I’m trying to preach here – which is to live authentically. I’m just asking that even if you are feeling really awful inside and like all you want to do is to curl up under the covers and sleep your life away – to look decent and step outside to face the world – even if it’s just to get a cup of coffee or to grab the morning paper. Brush your teeth, brush your hair a little, put on some make up – feel good about yourself.

And then step outside and show to the world that you’ve got this!

Leave a Reply

