Be Kind To Yourself

The road to recovery is not an easy one. There will be bumps on the road. Sometimes you might fall into a sinkhole and feel like you may never climb out of it. But you must keep the faith. You will climb out of it. The only tool you need to climb out of that sinkhole is yourself. 

Here’s what I want you to do – I want you to be kind to yourself.

You’ve been through a lot lately. You’re probably traumatized. You need to go easy on yourself and stop blaming yourself. You need to do you.

Don’t stress that you are not doing enough to make the pain go away. Don’t stress that you are not recovering according to someone else’s schedule. Everyone recovers at their own pace. What’s important that you constantly remind yourself of the end goal – a better life. 

Do something that makes you feel good about yourself. Don’t do anything for a day if that’s what you feel like. Go to a spa. Spend time with friends. Get lost in a walk. 

I like taking long walks and listening to music. I find that therapeutic. I walk an hour to and from work everyday. It’s the time that I get to myself where I get lost in the music and just feel stronger as I walk. 

Sometimes you may need to do something to get it out of your system. For me, I had to validate myself with other guys. But I also knew that that is not a long term solution. So after about a year, I stopped. You need to give yourself a time period to do whatever you need to do to take care of your issues. But always remember that it is not a long term solution and that you need to get back on track to the bigger goal of a better life after. 

So be good to yourself. Do you. And recover.

Leave a Reply

